Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
truthspeaks.over-blog.com

This blog is for anyone who seeks the truth about this world, anyone who's ever wondered is this all there is to life? What happens when I die? Why was I created? This blog aims to answer all these questions and more by applying the word of God and trusting in Jesus Christ. May everyone who comes across this blog be blessed and come to the knowledge of the truth so they can be set free.

JOY

The Joy of the Lord is upon my soul I will dance the David dance...I don't know if you've ever heard that song before or even know who David is but Joy is something only God can give you and when you get it you may just dance the David dance.

Joy is a word you never really hear that often today in society it's mostly the word happy that's thrown around a lot. When I was younger I heard happy used in so many different contexts for example, I passed my exams I'm so happy, I won the spelling competition I'm so happy or Mum made my favourite meal I'm so happy. People seemed to be happy because of the most insignificant thing or the most significant thing. But that's just it somebody was always happy because of a thing, people, a situation, something good that happened to them at a certain point in time. People never seemed to be happy for no reason or for happiness sake as I like to call it.

This lead me to the conclusion that I had when I was younger and I still have now. Happiness is fleeting, i'ts circumstantial,i'ts based off of things and things alone. If someone is happy because they've got something does that mean they will be sad because they don't have it? If something can make you happy so easily doesn't that mean it can also make you sad just as easily and quickly? This is something I've known to be true in my childhood and teen years. When I esteemed receiving things too highly because I thought it would make me happy it actually left me sad. In a worse state that I was beforehand. 

The thing about happiness is that it's fleeting. Easy come is just as much as easy go.In the world today so many people long for happiness and are sometimes in their lives happy and that's good but it is by no means great. Happiness is superficial and it is temporary and it is fleeting. Why? Because it is based off our circumstances and circumstances change always I mean every single second of every single day. I'm twenty years old now and I'm not in the same educational,financial, physical and spiritual circumstance I was in a year ago let alone a week ago. Our happiness cannot be based on the here and now because the things we have today wont be the things we have tomorrow.

Now that you have an idea on what happiness is and know that it's good but not great lets talk about Joy.Joy. You cannot have joy if you do not know Christ. I know what you're thinking how on earth is that possible? I tell you truthfully it's really simple God is the source of all joy. You cannot get it anywhere else it's as simple as that. You looking for Joy in the material things of this world is like someone looking for healthy food at McDonalds. It's just a big big NO. Jesus is the one and only source for real. We serve an eternal infinite God who gives us eternal infinite joy. 

I didn't know what joy was until I gave my life to Christ it is something so constant and true. Joy is always there every single day of my life no matter what circumstances I'm going through because guess what? God is always there every day of my life! I have joy no matter what I'm going through because Jesus is faithful and he never leaves my side because of that I am joyous because whether I am lacking or in abundance he is always there. If I have things or if I don't have things he is there and he will always be there till the end of time. That is Joy. It never goes away it's not fleeting and it is never circumstantial because our God is never circumstantial.

I pray that all those who are reading this blog have true joy and have it abundantly in our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. As always I leave you with some Bible verses about todays topic, Joy.

Isaiah 9:3

Thou hast multiplied the nation, and not increased the joy: they joy before thee according to the joy in harvest, and as and rejoice when they divide the spoil.

Proverbs 10:28

The hope of the righteous shall be gladness: but the expectation of the wicked shall perish.

1 Peter 1:8-9

8.Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:

                                                            9. Receiving the end of your faith, even the salvation of your souls.

Romans 15:13

Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost.

 

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post