Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
truthspeaks.over-blog.com

This blog is for anyone who seeks the truth about this world, anyone who's ever wondered is this all there is to life? What happens when I die? Why was I created? This blog aims to answer all these questions and more by applying the word of God and trusting in Jesus Christ. May everyone who comes across this blog be blessed and come to the knowledge of the truth so they can be set free.

COVENANT

My beautiful Brothers and Sisters in the LORD, I pray that you are all doing well by the grace of GOD and are in fullness of peace and joy. The days that we are living in are truly short and dark but I thank the good LORD that we have an advocate with the Father the man Christ Jesus who lives always to make intercession for us and defends us against our adversaries. I hope you always know that the LORD is good and His mercies endureth forever.

Todays' post is based on something I've been learning about that's changed how I viewed Christianity and what it means to walk with the LORD. I'd like to share this with you today and pray that you are blessed by it. If you have any comments or feedback on this post and would like to get in touch with me please do so at wrapped.around2020@gmail.com.

Growing up in the Church I never realised how serious our walk with the LORD is and how personal GOD we have is. I knew that the Lord Jesus loved me and died on the cross for my sins but didn't grasp how much He wanted to have a personal serious relationship with me as His daughter. I can't remember if I was told at a young age and then forgot or if it's something no one ever told me about. Either way I didn't know how serious it was to uphold my relationship with GOD and make fellowship with Him my number one priority each and every day. You see what people and a lot of Christians don't realise is that GOD has been desiring the same thing from His creation since the beginning of time and that is to have a people set apart for Him. A people who will be like Him, follow Him, obey Him and steward His work upon the Earth as long as they live. What God is asking us for is more than a Sunday morning participation but a life long promise to be His people and He to be our GOD.

Covenant in Hebrew means beriyth that comes from the noun cutting and is understood as meaning "to select the best". A covenant is referred to as a pledge, promise, deed or legal agreement it's so much more than just a union between two people it's a deep soul attachment. We often hear the Word covenant in relation to marriage we understand that it's not simply an agreement made on the day of the wedding but it is the souls of two people being joined together for life. It is a union that cannot easily be broken and requires a serious commitment by both parties. My Brothers and Sisters this is exactly what GOD is asking of us; He is requiring a full commitment for life that not only says I will be yours on Sundays and when I'm in need but always. I will be for you every moment of my life whether good or bad because you are my GOD and I have made a covenant with you that I shall surely keep. Nowadays, we rarely if ever hear Christianity spoken about in these terms; that we literally belong to GOD and He's asking us to be serious about Him for the rest of our days. There's often not an emphasis on what the LORD is requiring of us and simply on what He can do for our lives but the kingdom of GOD is truly not so. GOD wants us, He truly does and we must give ourselves to the one who gave everything for us.

In the beginning we see the first example of a covenant in Genesis; the Lord God made a covenant with Father Abraham who was to be the Father of many nations. The LORD called him out from among his people, kindred and land and said I will make you the Father of many nations and give you a land that I will show you. The LORD called Abraham who then was Abram to Himself and made a covenant with Him and His seed forever. If you read further along in the Word you'll see that the children of Israel were GODs' chosen people not because of anything that they did but because the LORD established a covenant with Abraham that He would make Him into a great nation. The children of Israel came from that covenant. This is why we see how when time and time again when the children of Israel disobeyed GOD and committed harlotry He did not utterly cast them away but suffered with them. One because He is a merciful Father and two because He honoured the covenant He made with Father Abraham to be His GOD and the GOD of all the descendants of him. This example in the Word shows us the seriousness of being in a covenant how it's not just for when suits you or when you feel like observing it but forever through every circumstance of this life.

Christianity, true Christianity is a covenant with the Lord God forever. It's saying this GOD died on the cross for my sins and is calling me out for a good plan and purpose I'm going to follow Him but I'm not just going to follow Him today but everyday for the rest of my life in the hard and the easy times. It's complete surrender to His will and changing of your whole life to show that you're in a league with Him. This living GOD who is true, mighty, wonderful and awesome wants to be in a covenant with us His children but instead of cleaning ourselves up and trusting in Him a lot of the time we trust in ourselves. Many of us trust in our Family and Friends others in the Pastors and Leadership that we know but they cannot lead you into a covenant with GOD only He can do that! The Lord God called Abram out of the land of his heritage and from everything he knew, GOD himself did this not his family or any spiritual leader. It is the LORD himself who will call us out of where we are to be in covenant with Him for His good pleasure. He is the one who wills and works for this to be done in our lives. The same way He revealed Himself to us when we were wandering on the broad path that leads to perdition is the same way He will bring us in to an everlasting covenant with Him.

To be accounted worthy of this union with the Most High He is requiring certain things of us (you can read from Genesis 12 to see this resembled in Abrams life). The Lord God is requiring us to have Faith, remember it is impossible to please God without Faith we must first believe that He is who He is and is a rewarder of those that diligently seek Him. Abraham is the Father of Faith because He believed the voice of the LORD and followed Him. He didn't have any Bible like we do today nor knew anyone who was following our LORD but still listened and obeyed not even knowing where he was going but trusted the voice that told him "I will give you a land that I will shew you". Secondly, we must be searching for GOD to enter into a covenant with Him. If we are distracted by the cares of this life and our own desires than how will GOD even be able to speak to us pertaining what He wants to accomplish in our lives. The Word says "You will find me when you seek me with all your heart"; Friends we must be looking for Him diligently that way when He calls us as He did Abram we will hear Him. Lastly, we also must be desiring more of GOD, I honestly believe that if we are content with where we are in Christ and not looking to grow or excel more in the Spirit that is exactly where He will leave us. We have to be fed up with our Churchianity, Lukewarmness and current standing with GOD and be seeking His face with fervor. The Word of the LORD says "those who hunger and thirst for righteousness shall be filled". It is those who want more of the Lord Jesus that will be given more! Not those who are happy to be exactly where they are in Him and have no intention of growing and being closer to Him. These are some things the LORD will require of us in order to be even accounted for a blessed covenant with Him but I assure you there are other requirements and the LORD may be requiring different things from each of us for He is indeed a personal GOD.

What I'm learning in this season of my life is that the LORD is good and His mercy endureth forever. He is truly such an awesome and wonderful GOD who will meet us exactly where we are and walk with us as we follow Him. He desires to be in covenant with us and He will not forsake this union or abandon us when we mess up He is truly not like man that He should lie nor the Son of man that He should repent. When we put our trust in Him that is when He will reveal the magnitude of His power in our lives and believe me when I tell you the GOD we serve is powerful. He will keep the covenant He establishes with you and lead you into green pastures as He did with His servant David. The Lord Jesus is showing me that He is truly the GOD of my salvation who called me when I was just a child into His loving arms. He is showing me that He is merciful and long suffering with each and every one of us because it is not His will for any to perish but all to come to repentance, for all to change. I truly thank Him for His mercy and compassion in my life and in the life of my loved ones for not abandoning us in our sins but waiting and leading us in repentance. He is truly a GOOD GOD His mercies are everlasting and His truth endureth from generation to generation.

I give the Lord Jesus all the glory for this post and pray that it was a blessing to you all. I hope you all learned something and it was edifying to your walk with the LORD. As usual I leave you with Scripture below regarding this post. May the good good LORD be with you this week and all your days. May He lead you in the way of life and show you His truth. I love you all with the love of Christ and He loves you infinitely more. Stay blessed.

Genesis 17:4-7

As for me, behold, my covenant is with thee, and thou shalt be a father of many nations. Neither shall thy name any more be called Abram, but thy name shall be Abraham, for a father of many nations have I made thee.                                                                         And I will make thee exceeding fruitful, and I will make nations of thee, and kings shall come out of thee.                                                                                                                   And I will establish my covenant between me and thee and thy seed after thee in their generations for an everlasting covenant, to be a God unto thee, and thy seed after thee. 

II Kings 23:3

And the king stood by a pillar, and made a covenant before the LORD, to walk after the LORD, and to keep his commandments and his testimonies and his statutes with all their heart and all their soul, to perform the words of this covenant that were written in this book. And all the people stood to the covenant.

Jeremiah 31:32

Not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day that I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt; which my covenant they brake, although I was a husband unto them, saith the LORD:

Psalms 78:10

They kept not the covenant of God, and refused to walk in his law;

1 Chronicles 16:15

Be ye mindful always of his covenant; the word which he commanded to a thousand generations;

Romans 11:27

For this is my covenant unto them, when I shall take away their sins.

Ezekiel 16:60

Nevertheless I will remember my covenant with thee in the days of thy youth, and I will establish thee an everlasting covenant.

 

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post