Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
truthspeaks.over-blog.com

This blog is for anyone who seeks the truth about this world, anyone who's ever wondered is this all there is to life? What happens when I die? Why was I created? This blog aims to answer all these questions and more by applying the word of God and trusting in Jesus Christ. May everyone who comes across this blog be blessed and come to the knowledge of the truth so they can be set free.

BAPTISM

Happy New Year to you all I hope you're well and started off 2019 with nothing but the joy and peace that comes from Jesus Christ the Lord and Saviour of the whole world. I pray that my first blog of the year is a blessing to you and you take something away. So without further ado lets get into our topic.

Baptism is an interesting word I say that because you never really think about the importance of it until you become born again like at all. Before I knew who Jesus was baptism was just a mundane thing that people did just cause they wanted to. I also used to think it was something that you did for a newborn child to mark the beginning of their lives  and acceptance of Christ. That was of course completely wrong and a carnal way of thinking.

I got baptized when I was a baby in the Catholic church, at this time my family were practicing Catholics and didn't really acknowledge the differences between the Christian belief system. Some people believe that if you baptize a person as a baby that they've been given to God and they're now a Christian and Jesus knows them. This is kind of what I had thought to be true about five years ago that once you've been baptized as a baby that's it, you're good and I'm on my way to heaven. I can completely assure you that this line of reasoning is complete and utter fiddlesticks. 

If someone commits all sorts of sinful acts in their lifetime but are baptised as a child does that mean they're automatically heaven board? Of course not but this line of reasoning seems to be so prevelant today especially at funerals when someone has died the priest will state something along the lines of "...well he was baptised as a child so he's in the presence of God". Baptism does not equal salvation especially when it's as a baby who has no knowledge of the Lord or gospel of Jesus Christ.

You're probably wondering what's the meaning of baptism then and why do they do it in the first place if it doesn't bring salvation? Also why's it done as a baby if you have to do it later on in life any who? Well first of all baptism is a symbolic practice that portrays the dying of the old man with Christ on the cross and being raised again with him in the resurrection as the new man. During baptism when you get submerged under water that is the representation of death and when you are raised back over the surface it is life and not only that but life eternal. Baptism is a representation of the new life you have found in Christ Jesus. The thing to understand is that baptism doesn't bring you salvation believing in the cross of Christ and repenting of your old sins however does. For example if someone who is living a sinful life just decides for the craic to go to church and get baptized then continue their life in sin are they then saved? I think you know the answer to that. Baptism is displaying the commitment you've made to Jesus Christ and that you have repented and believed. I'ts like marriage, the ceremony does not make you committed to that person it's the decision that you've made prior to saying "I do" that does. You don't cheat on your partner everyday leading up to the wedding then expect to suddenly be faithful after the ceremony. I'ts the same with you and Jesus by grace through faith you are saved because you have believed and repented.

Furthermore, baptism is done as a baby for numerous reasons. I believe that one of the most prevalent reasons is because the parents want to demonstrate that they are giving the baby to God or committing s/he into the hands of the Lord. This intrigues me because often times the parents of babies that are baptized in the church don't live for God and aren't Christians. The baby does not have parents that love Jesus Christ so in essence it will not grow up with a knowledge of God from the ones that bring them up. This is not to say that they'll never come to Christ because the grace of God is greater but that the ones committing s/he to God does not have a knowledge of God themselves which is unfortunate.

I was baptized as a baby but I didn't even know what that meant nor did I come to the knowledge of God till I was seventeen. I got baptized at the age of twenty  but this is not the act by which I was saved but because of the grace of God and God alone. Baptism for me was symbolic and was not only something that I wanted but needed to do so that I followed the word of God that says Believe and be baptized everyone of you who accepts Jesus Christ as Lord. I'm sure each of you already know how important God's word is and how we must follow it if we hope to enter into his glory one day in paradise. Getting baptised as a believer is one of the ways we can follow his word.

As always I will leave you with verses from the word of God about this weeks topic.

Galations 3:26-27

For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus. For as many of you as have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ.

Acts 2:38

Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.

Mark 16:16

He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned.

John 3:5

Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God.

Romans 6:3

Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death?

 

I pray that every person reading this blog would come to the knowledge of Christ. That you would all know of his everlasting love for you and develop a relationship with him. Please don't wait tomorrow isn't promised to nobody, today is the day of salvation. Repent and believe before it is too late. May the good Lord be with you all and have a blessed year.

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post