Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
truthspeaks.over-blog.com

This blog is for anyone who seeks the truth about this world, anyone who's ever wondered is this all there is to life? What happens when I die? Why was I created? This blog aims to answer all these questions and more by applying the word of God and trusting in Jesus Christ. May everyone who comes across this blog be blessed and come to the knowledge of the truth so they can be set free.

TALKING TO GOD

I was raised in a Christian household but I didn't give my life to Christ until I was seventeen years old. It's strange because even though I wasn't a Christian I never doubted the existence of God, I knew he was real. How you ask? It's like knowing when you're sad or angry you can't quite explain to someone how you know you're sad you just do. I knew God was real truly but that doesn't mean I lived my life for him and accepted him into my life I did quite the opposite actually but that's a story for another day. God existed to me but I only talked to him in times of desperation, in times of sadness, peril and confusion and Lord knows I was confused especially through my secondary school years.

When I now think of how I only talked to God in times of need I'm perplexed. Here is God my Father creator of all things in the heaven and earth, Master of the universe, Knower of all things and i'm only talking to him when I need something. Like what? Talking to God was ever only something I did out of need I thought God was my giver. I could just send my requests to heaven wait to receive them and then carry on sinning like Jesus was just some person who gave out gifts when I asked. Crazy right? How the darkness of this world deluded me to think so little of talking to God I have no idea.

I've learned a lot since giving my life to Christ and am continuing to learn that talking to God is so much more than asking him for things that we need and only when we need it. Talking to God is one of the most important ways that we form a relationship with him. It is so important to talk to your creator everyday for the rest of your life because he loves you so so truly. The love that Jesus has for you and me is everlasting, there is never an end to his love, his love knows no depths and is so real. You see God never wanted us to be separated from him the way we are today, he always desired to have an intimate relationship with us and for us to be reliant on him. In this generation what do we see? Distraction on top of distraction on top of distraction taking you away from God and your time spent talking to him. 

Like Paul said in Timothy 2 people will come who have a form of Godliness but denying the power thereof. Many people say their a Christian but go weeks even months without talking to their creator. How can that be? How can one have a relationship with Jesus if you rarely even talk to him? Think for a moment how often you talk to your family or best friends can you imagine the sort of relationship you would have if you only talked to them on a monthly basis? You wouldn't be close to them or have any sort of comradery or association. It is the very same with Christ. Humble yourself go before the throne of grace and before you ask for anything thank God for what he has already given you, thank him for his mercy and grace that has kept you also praise his holy name because he is God.

In the past three years I have grown so much spiritually, emotionally and mentally from talking to my God not going to him when i'm in need and asking for things that I don't even deserve to begin with but humbling myself and opening out my heart to the one who created the heavens and the earth. God wants so much more than to hear from us now and again he wants to actually know us intimately so that when we die we are not standing before the God whom we barely know but the one we talk to on a regular basis. Go to Jesus about what's going on in your life, the decisions that you want to make, what his will is for you because he cares! You cannot tell me that the God who created you and put you on this earth don't care for you. Nobody got you and wants to hear from you like Jesus does for real go talk to him whenever you can wherever you can as long as you do.

As always I'm going to leave you with some insight from the word of God about the topic of prayer. God bless you and may the love of Jesus be ever present in your life.

1 Chronicles 16:11                                                                                                                             Seek the LORD and his strength, seek his face continually.

Jeremiah 29:11                                                                                                                                  Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.

James 5:13                                                                                                                                         Is any among you afflicted? let him pray. Is any merry? let him sing psalms.

1 John 5:14                                                                                                                                       And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask anything according to his will, he heareth us:

Psalm 102:17                                                                                                                                    He will regard the prayer of the destitute, and not despise their prayer,

 

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post